Church History

The Apostolic Church Nigeria is a Christian church in Nigeria. It is one of the biggest churches in Nigeria with over 4.5 million members and a National Temple that seats up to 100,000 worshipers in a service.


The Apostolic Church Nigeria was borne out from the Apostolic Church of the United Kingdom through three Missionary delegates who arrived in Lagos, Nigeria on September 23, 1931; they were the late Pastors D.P. Williams (President), A. Turnbull (Vice-President), and W.J. Williams (International Prophet).[2] Prior to their coming, a great revival started in the churches in fellowship with Faith Tabernacle Congregation of Nigeria which resulted to much persecutions in 1930.[3]

In 1931, after many exchange of doctrines and other fundamental scriptural truths between the missionaries and leaders of Faith Tabernacle Congregation of Nigeria, the leaders of the fellowship decided to affiliate with The Apostolic Church of the United Kingdom and adopted The Apostolic Church as a denominational name together with its principles and practices.[4]


Organization and administration

The Apostolic Church Nigeria is administered as a single entity by the National Council and it is headed by a President. The current President is Apostle E.S Igwe, the chairman of Igboland territory who succeeded Pastor G.O. Olutola in February 2017. Pastor G.O Olutola who succeeded Pastor Eyo Okon in 2011 retired at the age of 80 and handed over the mantle of leadership to Apostle E.S Igwe.[4]

The church is categorized into sections called fields with a view of bonding members in a spiritual and healthy fellowship. The fields include:

Lagos and Western/Northern Areas Territory (LAWNA)

The Igboland Territory,
The Northern Area Field,
The Maritime Territory,
The Uyo Field,
The Ikot Ekpene Field.
The Eket Field
The Ikot Abasi Field
The Oron Field
The Federal Capital Territory Field (FCT Field)

Lagos and Western/Northern Areas (LAWNA)

Lagos and Western/Northern Areas (LAWNA) is a child of a unification process. Historically, in order to unite and centralize the activities of the Church, the Parent Areas (Lagos, Ilesa, Zaria and Kabba) agreed and formed a platform then known as The Apostolic Church, Federal and Western, Northern Areas Council (FAWNAC) which was later changed to The Apostolic Church, Lagos and Western/Northern Areas (LAWNA) Territory in compliance with the spoken word of the Lord through prophetical ministry in 1969. LAWNA Territory which was a unification of those four Areas in 1970 has today grown into 79 Areas across the country; and seven missionary fields overseas. The Territory covers 27 states out of the 36 states of The Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Samuel Adegboyega University

In 2011, the church founded Samuel Adegboyega University, a tertiary institution located in Ogwa, Edo State, Nigeria and named after LAWNA’s first territorial chairman Samuel Adegboyega.[6]

National Convention

The National Convention is a biannual gathering of all The Apostolic Church members at the National Temple, Alapere, Ketu, Lagos State, Nigeria.

Back to top